Founded in 1924, the Consortium for the Tutelage of Valpolicella DOC Wines is an association of grapevine growers, wine makers and bottlers of Valpolicella wine production area, that includes 19 municipalities of Verona province.

As the Consortium represents more than the 80% of the producers using “Valpolicella” appellation, it promotes activities to enhance the value of the whole territory: the wine and its area of origin, Valpolicella history, traditions and the typical features that make its landscape unique in the world.

The Consortium has very important institutional tasks: it takes care of promotion, value enhancement, and information diffusion for Valpolicella wines and territory and it is responsible for the tutelage of brands and viticulture in Valpolicella wine production area. It is in charge of the surveillance, safeguard and protection of the designations.

The wide production area of Valpolicella DOC and DOCG wines includes the submontane area of Verona province and is divided into three different zones, according to the production regulations:

  • The Classica, formed by five geographic areas, including the areas around Sant’Ambrogio di Valpolicella and San Pietro in Cariano valley, Fumane, Marano and Negrar valley.
  • Valpantena valley.
  • The DOC area includes the northern districts of Verona province and Illasi, Tramigna and Mezzane valleys.

The main grape varieties of the area are Corvina, Corvinone, Rondinella and, to a smaller extent, Molinara.

The wines of the appellation are Valpolicella, Valpolicella Ripasso, Amarone della Valpolicella and Recioto della Valpolicella.